State Laws

It's a good idea to know your local and state laws regarding fireworks before you light them off. Each state has different fireworks laws, which may vary depending on what type of devices are considered to be "consumer fireworks" under state law. Below is a map that shows the types of fireworks allowed in each state.

Please be aware that the diagram below should only be used as a reference guideline, not as an exact definition of the individual laws. Local counties and cities may further restrict the type of fireworks that can be used within areas of their jurisdiction, despite what the state laws may be.



States that allow nearly all consumer fireworks (currently 41 + DC)

States that allow only sparklers or small novelties (IL, IA, OH, VT)

States that ban all consumer fireworks (DE, MA, NJ, NY)

720 Joliet St. (US 30), Dyer, IN. 46311 | 847.722.6800 | Contact Us